TKR beat Amazon Warriors to win 2018 CPL

The Trinbago Knight Riders have become the first team in CPL history to win the tournament back to back after they defeated the Guyana Amazon Warriors by eight wickets at the Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad on Sunday. After being sent into bat, the Amazon Warriors were restricted to 147-9 from their 20 overs with Luke Ronchi top-scoring with 44.

Khary Pierre led the way with the ball for the Knight Riders with 3-29 from four overs. In reply, the home side got to their target with 15 balls to spare thanks to Colin Munro with an unbeaten 68. The Trinidad and Tobago based franchise now have three titles to their name having won titles in 2015, 2017 and now in 2018. The Amazon Warriors have now lost four CPL finals after losing in 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2018.

The Barbados Tridents and the Jamaica Tallawahs are the only other franchises to win the CPL. Meanwhile, four Jamaica Tallawahs players including captain Andre Russell have been named in the CPL team of the tournament. 

Despite scoring only 163 runs in eleven matches, his unbeaten 121 against the Knight Riders in August as well as his 14 wickets got him the nod. All-rounder Rovman Powell, pacer Oshane Thomas and Glen Phillips were the other Tallawahs players to make the eleven.

Four Knight Riders were also selected in the eleven including Colin Munro, Darren Bravo, Ali Khan and Fawad Ahmed. Shimron Hetmeyer and Imran Tahir are the only two Amazon Warriors in the team while Kieron Pollard was the lone representative from the St Lucia Stars. No player from the Barbados Tridents or the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots made the cut.




comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
Jamaica granted US authorities waiver to...
Manhunt underway for serial rapist in...